What are the laws and penalties regarding underage drinking in South Dakota?

In South Dakota, a person must be at least 21 years of age to buy, consume, or possess any form of an alcoholic beverage. If you are over 18, but less than 21, and you purchase, attempt to purchase, possess, or consume alcoholic beverages (except when consumed in a religious ceremony), the maximum sentence is 30 days in jail, a $200 fine, or both.

Each state has its own laws regarding the legal drinking age, but most states set that age at 21. There are, however, still some differences among the states.

Is there a penalty for people who buy alcohol for minors?

Under the new law that went into effect July, 2000, a person who buys alcohol from a retail business to sell or give to an underage person will now face a Class 1 Misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail and/or a $1,000 fine.